The secret Chapelle Saint-Louis - Saint Germain Boucles de Seine

The secret Chapelle Saint-Louis
Hôpital de Saint-Germain-en-Laye
4 rue de la Baronne-Gérard
78100 Saint-Germain-en-Laye

01 39 27 40 50

Concealed away in a place once run by friars, and known as a charitable work in the Middle Ages before becoming a hospital, the Chapelle Saint-Louis stands as a witness to this period.

This historic place, dating from the 19th century, retains its share of mystery. It was completed by the architect Alfred Normand in 1884.

But the history of the Hôpital de Saint-Germain if much older...

In 1228, a 'maison-Dieu' ('house of God') was built to house the poor, travellers and those nearing the end of their lives in the town of Saint-Germain. Initially located on the site of the present-day Cour Larcher, it later became the Hôtel-Dieu and was entrusted to friars of the Recollets order in 1619.

This first building made way for the Maison de la Charité in 1649, before being transferred and renamed the Hôtel-Dieu de la Charité in 1670.

In 1753, the Marquise de Montespan created a general hospital that gave aid to the most destitute and later the elderly.

In 1803, the two institutions were combined and the new hospital was opened in 1881.

The hospital has been progressively restructured but has retained some of its historical elements, including several wings bearing the names or their former sponsors, its main façade and the chapel.

Its central gallery houses a collection of display boards that present a detailed and visual account of the seven centuries of its history.



Every day throughout the year.


Free of charge.


No reviews available.

Leave a review