Saint Germain Church - Saint Germain Boucles de Seine

Saint Germain Church
4 place Charles de Gaulle
78100 Saint-Germain-en-Laye

01 34 51 99 11

The fourth church to be built on the site of the original small priory, the Eglise Saint-Germain has survived the reign of many kings and seen many reworkings over the centuries.

It was first built by Robert le Pieux in about 1020, then razed by the English troops of the Black Prince in 1346. It was rebuilt during the reign of Charles V (mid-14th century) before collapsing in 1681. Louis XIV then ordered the construction of the third church, which was completed in 1683.

Louis XV found it too small and so decided to build a fourth church, which he oriented towards the château rather than facing west. The first stones were laid in 1766, before the Revolution, but it was not completed until 1829.

It is decorated with various remarkable works, including a bas-relief that is a copy of the Parma 'Deposition' by Benedetto Antelami; the pulpit, originally designed for a chapel at the Château de Versailles; two organs listed by the Monuments Historiques, the large one commissioned by Louis XIV from A. Thierry and the chancel organ designed by Aristide Cavaillé-Coll; frescoes by Amaury Duval; and paintings by Saint-Germain artist Paul Véra.

The church also houses the tomb of James II of England. Deposed from the English throne, he was welcomed by Louis XIV in 1688 and lived in the Château Vieux de Saint-Germain until his death in 1701. Louis-Philippe had the mausoleum built in 1835 and Queen Victoria offered the wall decoration, which displays the coats of arm of English monarchs.

Location

Openings

Every day throughout the year between 9 am and 8 pm.
Closes at 5pm on Mondays.
When the door leading to the Place Charles de Gaulle is closed, the church can be entered via the side staircase situated in the cour du presbytère.

Prices

Free access.

Review

No reviews available.

Leave a review

Eglise Saint-Germain - Saint Germain Boucles de Seine

Eglise Saint-Germain
4 place Charles de Gaulle
78100 Saint-Germain-en-Laye

01 34 51 99 11

Quatrième église construite sur le même emplacement que le petit prieuré d'origine, l'église Saint-Germain a connu de nombreux rois et de remaniements au cours des siècles.

Elle fut tout d'abord édifiée par Robert le Pieux vers 1020, puis incendiée en 1346 par les Anglais du Prince Noir. elle fut donc reconstruite sous le règle de Charles V, avant de s'écrouler en 1681. Louis XIV ordonna donc l'édification de la troisième église qui vit le jour en 1683.

Louis XV la trouva trop petite, il décida donc de bâtir la quatrième église, qu'il souhaita orientée vers le château et non vers l'Orient. La première ayant été posée en 1766, avant la Révolution, elle fut finalement achevée en 1829.

Elle est ornée de différentes œuvres remarquables comme un bas-relief, copie de la déposition de Parme, signé par B. Antelami, la chaire au départ conçue pour une chapelle du château de Versailles, deux orgues classés Monuments Historiques, le grand commandé par Louis XIV à A. Thierry et l'orgue de choeur réalisé par Aristide Cavaillé-Coll, des fresque d'Amaury Duval, des peintures de Paul Véra, artiste saint-germanois, ...

L'église abrite également le tombeau de Jacques II Stuart.
Destitué du trône d'Angleterre, il fut accueilli par Louis XIV en 1688 et s'installa au château Vieux de Saint-Germain, jusqu'à sa mort en 1701. Louis-Philippe fit construire le mausolée en 1835 et la reine Victoria offrit la décoration des murs aux armes des souverains anglais.

Situation

Ouvertures

Toute l'année. Tous les jours de 9h à 20h.
Fermeture à 17h le lundi.
Lorsque la porte donnant sur la place Charles de Gaulle est fermée, on entre dans l’église par l’escalier latéral situé dans la cour du presbytère.

Tarifs

Accès libre.